Skip to content
Back to news


Publication date:

MOSCOW, October 11, 2021 – Events within the framework of International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) General Meeting and the sessions of the IEC governing bodies, attended by delegations of 69 states, were held in a hybrid format for the first time. Head of Rosstandart Anton Shalaev chaired Russian delegation that also included representatives of the GOST R central office, the Federal State Budgetary Institution "Russian Institute of Standardization" and the Federal State Budgetary Institution "Rostest-Moscow".

The main topics of the IEC General Meeting were the digital transformation of international standardization and the role of standards in achieving sustainable development goals. According to IEC ISO President Yinbiao Shu – "the global crisis has provided a unique opportunity for the transformation of international standardization."

In addition, according to the elections results, Kazuhiko Tsutsumi (Japan) took the post of IEC Vice-President, and the head of the Belgian Electrotechnical Committee, Jo Cops, was elected to the position of IEC President for a three-year term starting from 2023. A new management structure of the organization was also approved during the General Meeting.

On the eve of the annual meetings of the governing bodies, the IEC also summed up the results of the annual IEC 1906 Award ("1906 Award"). For the second year in a row, representative of Russian Federation is among the winners of the award. Olga Suslova, Head of the Scientific and Technical Department of JSC NIIPT, became one of the laureates of 2021.

According to the IEC Secretary General, Philip Metzger, this award was a recognition of Olga Suslova's personal contribution to the standardization of power electronics systems and equipment and the emergence of a series of international standards IEC TR 60919 "High Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) systems with linear switching converters" and IEC 62927 standard "Voltage source-powered Inverter Valves (VSC) for Static Compensators (STATCOM). Electrical tests". The standards were developed within the framework of the international technical committee 22F "Power Electronics for Power Transmission and Distribution systems", whose secretariat is assigned to the Russian Federation.

Recall that the 1906 Award, formed by the IEC Executive Committee and awarded on an annual basis, named after the founding date of the International Electrotechnical Commission, is a recognition of exceptional personal achievements and merits of experts involved in the development of international standards. The value of the award is added by the fact that the nomination of candidates is carried out directly by the international technical committee for standardization without the participation of the national standardization body. Olga Suslova became the sixth Russian winner of the prestigious award in the history of its existence.

Share this news